Here are the committee assignments (thanks MyDD) with the CBC members bolded and CHC members italicized (thanks to me) — for your future reference:

Agriculture, Collin Peterson (D-MN)
Appropriations, David Obey (D-WI)
Armed Services, Ike Skelton (D-MO)
Budget, John Spratt (D-SC)
Education & the Workforce, George Miller (D-CA)
Energy & Commerce, John Dingell (D-MI)
Financial Services, Barney Frank (D-MA)
Government Reform, Henry Waxman (D-CA)
Homeland Security, Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
Intelligence, Silvestre Reyes (D-TX)
International Relations, Tom Lantos (D-CA)
Judiciary, John Conyers (D-MI)
Resources, Nick Rahall (D-WV)
Rules, Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
Science, Bart Gordon (D-TN)
Small Business, Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
Transportation & Infrastructure, James Oberstar (D-MN)
Veterans’ Affairs, Bob Filner (D-CA)
Ways & Means, Charles Rangel (D-NY)
(Read profiles for CBC members here)

Special mention of Velazquez and Reyes from the Congressional Hispanic Caucus. The CHC is generally seen as less powerful and influential than the CBC in part due to rumored infighting, yet I predict this is likely to change in coming years. Like the CBC, they have only one senator on board and none of the Republican or Cuban-American Latinos participate in the original CHC. There is another group called the Congressional Hispanic Conference that conservative Latinos founded to form their own little even less effective club.

Hey — rival CHCs: there’s strength in numbers. Surely the CBC for all its faults has proven that over the years. Surely there are some issues y’all must agree. Now is the time to get it together.

Related Posts with Thumbnails